Welcome Guest! To enable all features please try to register or login.
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline rclad  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 11, 2017 4:08:51 PM(UTC)
rclad

Rank: Advanced Member

Posts: 133
United States

Thanks: 65 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 17 post(s)
The second figure in the 2018 Sportsman sequence is a 1/2 loop (or Immelmann, as some prefer) with a 2x4 roll on entry. When a point roll is centered on a line it's pretty clear what that should look like, but when it's on entry, i.e., immediately followed by a pull or push, I'm not as clear about the timing. The rule on point rolls seems pretty clear that the points refer to the number of pauses, not the number of roll segments. An omission of a pause zeroes the figure. If I'm reading that right, is there a pause after the second roll segment before pulling into the 1/2 loop?

8.9.2: Family 9.2 -9.8: Point Rolls.
These rolls are judged on the same criteria as the standard roll, only the aircraft stops rotation during the roll for a pre-stated number of times, i.e. 2, 4, or 8. The rate of the roll and the rhythm of the points must be constant throughout with the aircraft projecting the pre-stated plane and direction of flight. The pauses will be of identical duration and the degree of rotation between each pause shall be 180 degrees, 90 degrees, or 45 degrees, as depicted by the Aresti diagram. Each visible variation in the duration of the pause segments is downgraded by one (1) point. Errors in degrees of rotation (under/over rotating the points) are downgraded at a half (.5) point per five (5) degrees. The roll rate of the rolling segments must be constant with each roll segment matching that of the preceding segment. Any visible deviation in roll rate from one segment to the next, or within a segment, is to be downgraded by one (1) point per occurrence. The duration of the rolling segments as compared to the pause
segments need not be equal. Each pause of a point roll must be clearly recognizable in every case. If a pause is not recognizable or is omitted, the figure is graded a zero (0).
Greg Hladky
Flying on a wing and a purpose...
and physics, power, practice, preparation, plans...
and pioneers who pushed the envelope!
Offline Doug Pilcher  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 11, 2017 4:18:59 PM(UTC)
Doug Pilcher

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Board of Directors

Posts: 768
United States

Thanks: 188 times
Was thanked: 335 time(s) in 217 post(s)
In this example, you are correct that a brief but perceivable pause in the 2X4 but after the second roll you immediately in this maneuver, pull the 1/2 loop. No line should drawn or seen at end of the 2x4 and 1/2 loop.
Doug Pilcher
South Central Regional Director - Regional Judging Instructor
Would Rather be Flyin' Then Workin'
thanks 1 user thanked Doug Pilcher for this useful post.
rclad on 10/11/2017(UTC)
Offline rclad  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:01:57 PM(UTC)
rclad

Rank: Advanced Member

Posts: 133
United States

Thanks: 65 times
Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Sorry, I misunderstood the rule. It clearly refers to the number of stops in rotation, not pauses. Oops! I confused "stop" with "pause." My bad. Blushing

Thanks for clarifying that!
Greg Hladky
Flying on a wing and a purpose...
and physics, power, practice, preparation, plans...
and pioneers who pushed the envelope!
thanks 1 user thanked rclad for this useful post.
Toby W. Silhavy on 10/13/2017(UTC)
Offline Doug Pilcher  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:04:37 PM(UTC)
Doug Pilcher

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Board of Directors

Posts: 768
United States

Thanks: 188 times
Was thanked: 335 time(s) in 217 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rclad Go to Quoted Post
Sorry, the rule clearly refers to the number of stops in rotation, not pauses. Oops! I confused "stop" with "pause." My bad. Blushing

Thanks for clarifying that!


No Bad! Ask away of any clarifications needed. That is what is great about IMAC and the IMAC community. We compete against each other sure! But we strive to teach each other as well!
Doug Pilcher
South Central Regional Director - Regional Judging Instructor
Would Rather be Flyin' Then Workin'
thanks 1 user thanked Doug Pilcher for this useful post.
Toby W. Silhavy on 10/13/2017(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error